“When the Son of Man comes in His glory, and all the angels with Him, then He will sit upon His glorious throne. All the nations will be gathered in His presence, and He will separate the people as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He will place the sheep at His right hand, and the goats at His Left.”

“Then the King will say to those on His right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father, inherit the Kingdom prepared for you from the creation of the world. For I was hungry, and you fed me. I was thirsty, and you gave me a drink. I was a stranger, and you invited me into your home. I was naked, and you gave me clothing. I was sick, and you cared for me. I was in prison, and you visited me.” Matthew 25:31-36

Jesus said that these “Righteous ones”, the sheep on His right hand, will reply to Him in surprise: “Lord, when did we ever see you hungry and feed you? or thirsty, and give you a drink? Or show hospitality to You, a stranger? Or visit you when you were sick or in prison?”

And He will reply, “Truly I tell you, when you did it to one of the least of these My brothers and sisters, you did it to me.”

Notice as you read this again, the astonishment of the sheep when the Lord Jesus tells them what they have done. They did not know that their kindness to the needy was in fact kindness to Jesus.

These words of Jesus show us how generous-hearted He is; His Father has prepared a kingdom for these “Righteous ones”, people who do not even know that they are serving Him.

This passage also underscores for us how little we know, we who can only see the outward appearance. Will there be some welcomed into that Kingdom who are people we would not have considered to be Christians? And we ourselves, in our interaction with those in need, will likely not know who among them is a member of the body of Christ. But if we are led by the Holy Spirit, we will not need to know; we will be safe as long as we love and obey Him.

 

Leave a Reply

