“I am the Light of the world,” Jesus had said.

And, trying to turn Jesus’ teaching back around on Him, the Pharisees pounced on His claim. ” You are making claims about yourself,” they said. “Such testimony is not valid.”Jesus was not intimidated in the least. “These claims are valid, even though I make them about Myself. For I know where I came from and where I am going, but you don’t know this about Me. You judge by human standards, but I do not judge anyone. And if I did, my judgment would be correct in every respect because I am not alone. The Father Who sent Me is with Me. Your own law says that if two people agree about something, their witness is accepted as fact. I am one witness, and My Father Who sent Me is the other.” John 8:14-18 NLT

Throughout His ministry, Jesus constantly referred to His Father as the source of all His teachings and the source of all His works. On at least two occasions, the Father Himself, in a voice from Heaven, had declared that Jesus was His dearly loved Son, and brought Him great joy.

Everything Jesus said and did had His Father’s witness confirming it as eternal truth. And anyone who tried to receive His teachings and His sayings in a purely human context– that is, without accepting Jesus’ divinity– would sooner or later shipwreck on His hard sayings.

Jesus knew where He had come from and where He was going.  His words were spoken with confidence and eternal authority– an authority unrivaled by any of the religious leaders of His day, and which caught the attention of His hearers. God was bringing a message directly to mankind in the person of His dearly loved Son, and He bore witness to every word Jesus spoke, that it was “correct in every respect.”

 

Leave a Reply

